SimonD’s workbench

simond

Western Thunderer
As my packing van as perhaps taking up more than it’s fair share of the 2021 Workbench thread, I’ve brought it over here.

The van will be part of a breakdown train for my “one day” Porth Dinllaen layout, the premise of which is that Brunel did build his proposed line to, and Irish mail port on the Lleyn Peninsula. There’s a load of detail on my thread on t’other channel.

The “one day” factor is that I’ve been building stock for it for something over 20 years, and hopefully, the extension will materialise in the not too distant future, and I’ll be able to build the layout to run it!

the Loco Shed part of the layout has been entertaining me for the last few years. Here are a few pictures.

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg image.jpg

The last shot reminds me that I need to put the lamp irons on the van. The buffers supplied have undrilled whitemetal stocks (I can live with that) and whitemetal heads (no good for man nor beast) and the whitemetal steam heat and vac pipes are not pretty. My immediate call for buffers would have been to Graham Jones at NMRS, but as many will be aware, he sadly succumbed to Covid a couple of weeks ago. I’ll have to see where such parts are now available.

The rugby is preventing much progress at the moment, brake knitting later...

Atb
Simon

simond

Western Thunderer
Partial brakes

image.jpg

Still putting off the knitting, mind you assembling 8 brake hangers from 4 components each, and soldering them to the chassis whilst burning my finger tips and assuring that they cannot touch the wheels as the compensation operates gives strong support to Mickoo’s assertion that multimedia modelling is the way forward. And took a while.

ah well, there’s always tomorrow: 2 hand levers, 3 equalising levers, various links and the chain plates that link them all together.

Atb
Simon

simond

Western Thunderer
Thanks Phil, it’s coming along but needs a bit more mojo!

the van has been light relief!

cheers