Bisley - BR Western Region 1990(ish) EM Gauge

Bisley Intro New

dj_crisp

I've read so many great layout build threads on this website I thought I should lower the skill level demonstrated and share mine. I have to admit i do get rather distracted with rolling stock so the layout gets left alone for long periods so I've decided to set up this thread to kind of keep me going!

The layout is set somewhere on the western region roughly in the south west. I like china clay but also have a soft spot for DMUs so the idea is to try and accomodate both.... although I'm not that good at maintaining that discipline as the photos show. When Pugsley, who i think might be a user on here, decided to sell "Bisley Junction" I jumped at the chance as it was about the size i can accomodate and it also had a nice flat bottom crossover. I've kept the name and the crossover hasn't moved but some of the other track has to form a layout plan which is a bit like St Erth so today it looks a bit like below;

2024-05-13 17.58.57.jpg

2024-05-13 17.57.46.jpg

2024-05-14 10.05.38.jpg
The layout is actual in a functioning state and my track building skills provide a good test bed for the stock I hack about with!

I quite like layouts in the dark so hopefully this one will have some atmosphere with a few LEDs. I find looking at my models in the dark also has the added benefitof hiding my modelling mistakes and my imagination can fill in the gaps.... so here's an impression of the timbertracks signal box I built will look in the night when fitted to the layout;

52153036754_995eeb8977_o.jpg

As you can see there's lots to do! If it's of interest I'll describe a few of the buildings and structures I've done over the last few years and hopefully show lots of future progress from the photos above!

Anyhow I hope the thread will be of interest and please do get involved as it'll inspire me to keep going and build less obvious mistakes!

Happy Modelling!
Will

AJC

Western Thunderer