7mm Wagons For Westerfield

S

SteveO

Good find Mick, thanks.

The 31 looks like a real brute from this angle. These and the 24s are ugly but loveable workhorses, both my joint second favourite locos. Super!

S

SteveO

I had an unexpected soldering session in the loft last night as The Keeper of The Keys wanted me to solder a broken lamp shade. I thought I may as well make use of the time and reattached a couple fallen off items from when I attached it with the fibreglass brush, and to build up the rocking axleguard assemblies.

IMG_2276.JPG

I only have a tiny workbench up there (which was FREEZING!) so it looks a bit cramped when in full flow. I also prepped some parts for the non-rocking side too. I'm a bit of a novice at this, but there's about 8mm of rocking motion left and right – that seems way too much overkill to me, unless I bought the Paris-Dakar version of the kit by mistake?

adrian

Flying Squad
I'm a bit of a novice at this, but there's about 8mm of rocking motion left and right – that seems way too much overkill to me, unless I bought the Paris-Dakar version of the kit by mistake?
That does sound a little excessive, although you may find the movement is restricted when they are fitted in the under frame.

S

SteveO

That does sound a little excessive, although you may find the movement is restricted when they are fitted in the under frame.

Both sets of irons are in and, as you can see from this grotesquely cruel close-up, there is quite a bit of movement. There is at least 4mm per side, possibly 5mm but I couldn't lay my hands on a rule in time.

IMG_2280.jpg
(I will get around to straightening up that corner washer plate one day...)

S

SteveO

Frigging Freezing in the rigging tonight. Corr, it's chilly up there!

IMG_2282.jpg