Newbie from North Devon

Roger Moore

Hi everyone.
I am new to O gauge after 50 years of 4mm modelling. At the moment I have two layouts in the process of being built, one for the house loft and one for the garage. My interest is BR from 1980 to and inc Sectorisation. I am a class 50 fan and before moving to Barnstaple I lived in Gloucester with a view of the Gloucester to Bristol main line from the garden and one of the reasons for buying that particular house was the sight of the 50's hammering along on both the up and down lines in the 1980's and 1990's.
Heard about this site from a post on the GOG.
Good old days.
Roger

Pencarrow

Western Thunderer
Welcome along Roger. You'll find the folk on the forum helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable. There are many folk on here that work in 7mm and compared to other forums there's a much higher percentage of people making things.

One thing we do all like are photos of whatever you're working on.

GrahameH

Western Thunderer
Welcome from me too Roger, you will find this forum to be as Chris says, helpful and friendly.

I'm hoping to get back to the Exeter O Gauge group when everything becomes normal in the future, they are also a friendly group with varied 7mm interests so if you wanted to venture out at some point I am certain you would get a friendly response.

Roger Moore

Hi Graham,
Thanks for the invite. I may well try and do that, when, as you say things get back to 'normal'.
Any good model shops in Exeter that keep a good stock of 'o' gauge?
Cant get much up here in Barnstaple so am having to mail order.
Roger

GrahameH

Western Thunderer
Any good model shops in Exeter that keep a good stock of 'o' gauge?

Hello Roger,

Sadly the Model Railway shop in Exeter is now closed ( great loss ).
Barny doesn't provide much either unfortunately and I tend to do mine via mail order now ( I have always preferred to support local model shops ) or at O Gauge meetings / Exhibitions.