Class 25 cabs

28ten

Guv'nor
Im no expert on this subject but I know some of you are rather partial to 25's and you may be able to point me in the right direction  :)
I have a JLTRT kit in front of me and the cab looks like this http://www.justliketherealthing.co.uk/index.php?main_page=popup_image&pID=21
and I want this http://www.class25.info/photograph_pages/individual_photos/721028_25224_Laira.htm    or a better shot a year earlier http://www.derbysulzers.com/7574prestonbw.jpg
The question is simple, the headcode box and the way it joins the cab roof is different between the kit and D7475 is this a known variation? I have been through the Derby Sulzers cab page and become thoroughly confused  :))
Any help appreciated  8)

lancer1027

Western Thunderer
Hi Cynric, sorry mate cant help with this one 25's are'nt my fortay im into HYDRAULICS :)) Especially WESTERNS :drool: :drool: but you already knew that ;) :thumbs:

Rob :wave:

Neil

Western Thunderer
I had it told to me that it was a Derby vs Darlington feature, however there are photos of two Darlington built 25s on opposite pages of Diesels in Depth 24/25 with the two different style of wings from the headcode box top to the roof dome (pages 22 and 23). I'll hazard a guess that build date may have more to do with the difference in style; so far as my quick scan of photos goes the later 25s without the connecting doors and with the grilles at cantrail level (later 25/2 and 25/3) all seem to have the shorter wings that blend in to the dome half way down. There seems to be a mix of styles within the early 25/2 sub class (connecting doors, bodyside grilles) which may indicate transition from one style to another during this period of construction. Be warned I've not trawled for photos of early build 25s to check this assumption out yet. Usual advice re. prototype  photos pertains, but no your eyes haven't deceived you and yes there are two different styles going on.

28ten

Guv'nor